2,4,6,8 – let's see what adaira creates!

my blog for cooking, crafting, thrift store finds, and more!

Mini Silver Pipe Cleaner Christmas Tree

on December 19, 2012

I love Pinterest. I have pinned more crafts than I can probably make in a lifetime, not that it stops me from pinning more. I found this beauty from one of the lovely crafters I follow there. It’s the Martha Stewart ¬†Pipe Cleaner Snowflake Christmas Tree. I didn’t have green pipe cleaners on hand, but I had just enough silver ones. Here’s what I made:

naked silver tree

I had one sparkly white pipe cleaner on hand, and I thought it would make a nice star tree topper! (stars for tree toppers – note a theme here?)

The base is a wooden thread spool!

thread spool tree base

I made the tree itself last week. Today was the day that I decorated it. I had purchased tiny little plaid bows a couple years back, not knowing what to do with them. I actually forgot I had them until I looked in my Christmas wrapping paper and ribbon container. It’s like those little bows were just quietly waiting for me to make this tree. Once I found them, I went over to my bead bins and got some Swarovski crystal beads to add to the tree. Here’s what I ended up with:

all decorated

I had a few beads that I had already herringbone wrapped with silver wire, so I thought I’d add them too. I love the way it turned out! I do have to say that making the tree was not as easy as I thought it would be. I’m not sure I’d want to make a dozen of them or anything. My hands hurt for a little while after I got done twisting all those little pieces of pipe cleaner. It is a little top heavy now that I have decorated it. I’m not sure how to put more weight on the spool to make it more secure. It sure is adorable though, and it makes me smile when I look at it, so it was definitely worth it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

